My disliking of cereal keeps me motivated to find healthy wholesome alternatives: Que these Yummy healthy breakfast muffins. It is even Sugar free (minus the fruit ).

I found this recipe on pinterest. Here is the orginal http://pin.it/_8BKnD9.  It is quick easy and wheat free. You can even microwave them!

BUT I like to make my life difficult. SO I have tried to adapt the recipe to make it more  weaning friendly.Let the experiment begin.

Ingredients

  • 2 ts of Milk ( you could use a milk alternative)
  • 2 ts of Greek Yogurt
  • 1tsp of baking soda
  • 1/2 a cup of oats
  • 1/4 of a banana
  • Handful  a raspberries (frozen of course)
  • 1 medium egg
  • A dash of vanilla essense

Method:

Put the raspberries to the side for later. Add all the other ingredients into a blender.

Did I mention I like experiments?

The orginal recipe said you could microwave your oat cake…. lets give it a go.

Microwaved:

Pour all contents  into a medium sized mug, drop the raspberries in. Cook for 3 minutesish..( til it is spongy and well risen)

It tasted good but it didnt look too pretty (perfect when you are too rushed to care about presentation.. lets be honest that is me most days!).


Oven cooked
:

Pour the mixture into a cupcake tray. Add the raspberries. I found the above quanties filled three sections of my oven tray. I cooked them at 200 degree  celsius for 15-20 minutes . The orginal pinterest recipe recomends that you use a toothpick to check if the cakes are cooked through (I didn’t have any toothpicks so I used the end of a birthday candle..not recomended).

I put some greek yogurt and a raspberry on top to add some je ne sais quoi . P.s I know I made three and now there are two …but I couldnt resist. 

Suggested adaptions:

  •  blueberries
  • Peanut butter (once you are sure your Little One is nut allergy free)
  • Strawberries and Honey (for babies over a 1 year old)

Like my recipe? Try this my frozen yogurt treats: https://wannabegreenparent.wordpress.com/2017/01/21/frozen-yogurt-treats/?preview=true

Want to hear our Baby Led Weaning journey click here: https://wannabegreenparent.wordpress.com/2017/01/22/baby-led-weaning-day-one/?preview=true

